Author in need of help

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hello everyone,

I'm a writer and I'm currently working on a novel that has a young gymnast as one of the main characters. Now, I know next to nothing about gymnastics, and for the most part that's not going to be a problem, as the sport itself isn't central to the plot. I should be able to bluff my way through most of it with a bit of googling and some YouTube video-watching.

However, there's one major plot twist that is absolutely dependent on gymnastics, and I was hoping you might be able to help.

Specifically, I need an injury, one that would fulfil most of the following criteria. The gymnast is a 13-year-old female with ambitions to become professional, and who has the basic talent to do so. Maybe not quite good enough for the Olympics, but certainly a level or two below that.

1) The injury occurs because she allows herself to be distracted. This would be either because it's something she's done a thousand times before and believes she can do without thinking, or something fairly new whose difficulty she doesn't quite grasp.

2) Ideally, she would be able to credibly blame her fall (or whatever) on others, even though it's her fault, so some sort of group routine being involved would be good.

3) The injury has to be bad enough that her chances of going pro are completely finished, but not so bad that she'll absolutely never be able to do any gymnastics again.

4) I'd prefer it if it were a leg injury that would put her on crutches for a few months, but I can deal with it if not.

Can you think of any routine that could suitably cause such an injury? I'd be eternally grateful for any suggestions.

Thank you.

(P.S.: I hope this is the right forum to post this in... if not, moderators, please feel free to move it -- or to suggest another forum to ask.)