home schooling

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

K

kvgymnast

i am a freshman in highschool and a level 10 gymnast. i really want to become elite which means that i need a lot more time in my day to train. right now i am attending a really nice private school but i get a lot of hard homework everynight, so there is no extra time in my day between school and gymnastics. i think the only other option would be homeschooling, but i don't know if i want to do that because i would miss my friends so much and just getting out of the house and living normally. but like i said i want to be elite. any suggestions? is there anyone who is in the same situation or is homeschooled and has some thoughts on it? thanks!

Is there a way for you to attend school for fewer hours in the day? I've heard of some schools allowing high-level athletes take just their core classes and get out by noon or so. Another question would be is your mom (or dad) ready to home-school you? And another, would you be willing/ able to get your GED and get finished sooner? These might be some options to consider.

first of all thanks for replying! my mom and i have been discussing this for a while and she is totally up to it. i know for a fact that at my school i would not be able to just take core classes and leave early. it is a school where they push you to do a lot extra in the arts and education, so they wouldn't allow it. there are not many other schooling options around except for public schools, but i would not want to attend the one that i would go to. i just wish that i could continue a social life while pursuing my dream!!