press handstands! ahhhh!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

i have been doing gymnastics for ten years now. and guess what? i have NEVER had a press.:(i can do one when i stand on a big box. but not even on a panel mat. i started working them at home and i m leaning more and i can get my toes off the ground about an inch, but thats it.:gloomy::cryingeyesout::sigh: does anyone have any tips? i really want a press, at least from standing.i just cant seem to press up. PLEASE HELP!!!!:confused:

My DD has problems with them, too. I think her problem is balance. She always falls over. I have seen her get into a handstand when she starts in a standing straddle and kind of jumps a little. She also tries to lower herself back down but falls towards the end. She just can seem to hold her balance to do them slowly.

My DD has problems with them, too. I think her problem is balance. She always falls over. I have seen her get into a handstand when she starts in a standing straddle and kind of jumps a little. She also tries to lower herself back down but falls towards the end. She just can seem to hold her balance to do them slowly.
that is exactly my problem! when i do get my feet up, my arms collapse. i am going to try and strengthen my wrists cuz that may be part of my problem:D

Her arms don't collapse. She just falls over, usually backwards. And when she lowers back down, she kind of plops on her butt.

:D
i used to be able to come down, but i wud also plop down on my butt. i dont even know if i can still go down. i think my arms collapse because a) i get scared from leaning, or b) i bend them. i am desperate to get this skill and its kinda silly cuz i was at the gym the other day and a bunch of 5-6 yo were doing press handstands from a sitting straddle:)

I guess I would have to know more what the problem is, but you can try working them from a headstand too. You can see that around 0:30 in this video:

[YOUTUBE]cHZ8yncLYYY[/YOUTUBE]