WAG New Code of Points (2017)

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymisforeveryone

Coach
Judge
FIG has published the new CoP on their website. Has anyone else had a look at it? What changes are you noticing? Let's talk about the new CoP! I'm a coach and also a judge and planning to take the highest national judging test in January so I'm already trying to study some of it.

Changes that I'm seeing:

Vault:

The start values have changed a lot! The tucked tsuk used to have a 4.0 start value and the piked was 4.2, now its only 3.5 and 3.7. The front handspring front tuck used to be 4.4 and pike 4.6 but now it's 4.0/4.2. The yurchenko vault tucked used to be 3.8 and piked 4.0, now it's 3.3/3.5. As a comparison, the Amanar used to be 6.3 and now it's 5.8. So it seems like all the values have gone down by a half point. But the front entry vaults only 0.4. The non flipping vaults have NOT gone down that much. For example a half on half off used to be 3.0 and now it's 2.8. I'm guessing our vaulters are going to head to the front handspring vaults now.

They have also added the deduction for dynamics! Yay!

Bars:

I'm not seeing any big changes. But I'm only interested of more basic skills since our gymnasts are not very strong on bars.

Beam:

The first thing I'm seeing is that now almost anything counts as an A mount. You can do basically anything but a squat on or a leg swing over the beam to a straddle sit. The harder mounts are still there of course. I like this change! Now the kids can get creative and create their own mounts! I'm so tired of watching everyone do that squat through the arms to the sitting position. The forward roll mount used to be an A but now it's a B! I'm hoping to see more these ;)