Parents Leo question

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

jessimee

Proud Parent
Im fairly new to the gymnastics world and most of my DD's leos have been hand-me-downs from friends so far. But she needs some new ones. My other DDs are swimmers and we buy Dolfin "Uglies" for practice suits--they are cheap, comfy, and last a long time. Is there an equivalent gymnastics leo brand? Cheap, comfy and lasts for a while and possibly can handle more than a few accidental trips through the dryer?

I don't know about the dryer for any of them, but Plum leos are popular and relatively cheap - about $30. GK often has clearance leos - they just had a huge sale with a lot for $15. In my experience, Plum runs a little smaller than the other brands. If you have a few gyms in your area check out their lobby. Some gyms have a lot of leos for sale and no shipping costs!

All of my girls' leos, including comp leos, go through the washer and the dryer. I wouldn't worry unduly about how to wash practice leos. We've bought most of ours off eBay, but buy from manufacturers when there are good sales. We've occasionally gotten gk leos in the $15 range, and have bought from dreamlight in a mystery lot format- 10 leos for $100. My girls happen to love dreamlight so it worked out, but I know mysteries aren't for everyone.

As for durability, the absolute best luck we have had is with Rebecca's Mom. My DD still wears the hand me down one that was the first leo she ever wore to her first rec class. It's lasted almost 4 years and over 6 inches/25 lbs- and it's still stretching with her!

I, too, have always put leotards through the washer and dryer(except for the occasional comp leo that had crystals already prone to falling off). GK always has a "value" collection of leotards that don't have bling but can come in cute patterns and same quality as all their leotards. They used to be $29 but think they might be around $35 now. They may be called "best buy" collection.