WAG Quitting Gymnastics to do Pole vaulting ? :(

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I am thinking about making a difficult decision.

Let me give you the background.

I'm a freshman in high school. I do xcel gymnastics. I love it, and I could compete level 7-8 if I were in JO. I placed 2nd all around in region 6 as platinum. But there is no way that I could do this for college (obviously).

Now, I've started Pole Vaulting. I do this 3 times a week for the past 6 months(?). I can vault at 8.5 - 9 feet. Unlike gymnastics, pole vaulting isn't something you need to start at 3 to succeed at. In fact, I am actually ahead of the game there, so I could feasibly get to a good height. I'm being coached by the college varsity coach (not privately - he runs an extra group) so I also have good coaching.

You need anywhere from 10.5 - 14 feet to get into a good college. Obviously, it varies, but not many people pole vault and it would help me stand out, be more attractive, etc.

Now, the real question is:

Do you think quitting gymnastics would be beneficial in the long run?

Thanks for all input.

Sarah,

Couldn't you do both? We know a few girls who do gymnastics and track, pole vaulting included. And one of those girls got a Div 1 ride for pole vaulting. And she was a high level gymmie. We have current girls doing track and gymnastics and all our girls do JO. I think you should investigate making both work.

The real question is what would be beneficial to you? What are your goals, needs, pros and cons? If the potential for college athletics and possibly scholarship is high on your priority list, then you know gymnastics will probably not be that path.

I am sure you will make a well thought out decision. May you find peace with whatever decision you make.

Where I live the track coaches search our gymnastics for pole vaulting. They have the ability and are fearless.