MAG Starting horizontal bar

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Men's Artistic Gymnastics

jayGatsby

Gymnast
Hello everyone! Soon I would like to start training horizontal bar. I have access to proper gymnastics facilities, but coaches only know about WAG skills, although it seems that the beginning elements of horizontal bar and uneven bars are similar so perhaps they still can help. I am a beginner adult, I have been doing floor for a couple of years and more recently some vaulting, but I have no experience with other apparatus. Googling around it seems that the initial elements should be

- Tap swing (hollow - arch - hollow, regrip)
- Pullover
- Cast to horizontal
- Back tuck flyaway
- back hip circle
- Glide swing to kip to support (or is the kip more advanced?)

It's probably too much to focus on at once, so I was thinking on start working on tap swing, cast to horizontal and pullover, is it sensible?

It seems to me that back giants and hip circles are more useful/important than the fwd version, is it so?

For a longer term plan I imagine reasonable progressions would be, likely with intermediate drills added,

Kip to handstand
- Glide swing to kip -> Glide swing to kip to support
- Cast to horizontal -> cast to handstand
And putting all together should give the kip to hs (?)

Bwd giant
- Tap swing increasing amplitude -> giant

Back layout flyaway
- tuck -> pike -> layout

Free hip back circle
- pullover -> back hip circle -> free hip back circle

Those progressions look sensible to me. WAG coach can indeed be helpful as some skills are similar.

However, I would be very careful about a few things :