Coaches Inappropriate coaches

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Malaloo

Coach
Hey everyone.. first time, long time. I’ve been a coach for 20 years and I did gymnastics myself for 16 years.
I’m only posting on here because I’m not quite sure where to turn. I could really use some help.
Long story short.. I work in a gym that has gymnastics and cheer. We have a cheer coach who has always spotted -and seemed- a little.... “off”. He grabs places he shouldn’t grab and “falls” on top of the girls (which happens every once in a while when you’re spotting I get it, but with him, it’s every single time and only with certain girls). He’s in his 40’s and I’ve had so many of my gymnasts come to me with inappropriate comments he’s made to them or about them. Making comments about their bodies, him telling them they have a crush on him.. things like that.
Every gymnastics coach in the gym has had an issue with this guy for years and many of us have gone to the owners (myself included) multiple times. I can’t speak for everyone but every time I’ve gone to the owners about inappropriate comments this guy has said to my kids, the owners go behind my back and tell him everything I said.
Now - I stand behind every word I’ve said about him.. and I’m absolutely willing to confront him about all of this - but this has caused major issues in the gym and now he and his wife are making snide comments about me when I walk by, talking about me every chance they get to every parent in the stands.. whatever. That’s not the issue.