Parents Round off Back tuck

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

P

ProudMomOfAlani

My 13-year-old daughter goes to a gym once a week. Her first class was last week. Before this, she was self-taught for about a year and a half. Her goal is to be a competitive gymnast. Her highest skill that she taught herself is a standing back tuck (when she went to her first class last week, the only issues they said with her tumbling was that she needed to point her feet more and squeeze). Now, she's trying to get a round-off back tuck, but she says that she "just can't find her knees" when she's in the air. I'm telling her to just wait until her next class, but she says that she's grateful that she's now able to go to classes, but once a week isn't enough to improve. I don't have the energy, nor the time to take her more than once. So here are my questions:
1. What can she do to get her round-off tuck?
2. Should she wait until her next class or continue practicing on her own?
3. Is she right about once a week isn't enough?

My answer to this depends on what she means by "competitive gymnast."

If her goal is to be a serious upper-level athlete (which is very unlikely, but not impossible, for an athlete getting into competition as late as 13), then she should not train roundoff back tuck. It reinforces a lot of habits that will cause problems in the development of powerful high-level tumbling. As a coach, any time I see a kid with high-level aspirations do roundoff-tuck, my heart sinks, because I know I'll have an uphill battle in teaching them to generate power in a roundoff-backhandspring.