Coaches Gymnast on her Phone

• Thread starter Deleted member 25978
  • Start date

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

D

Deleted member 25978

Hello friends,

I am a team coach at my gym and I have a variety of ages on team, but the oldest is about 14. Lately, she’s been showing up late (but the car is in the parking lot so she’s physically at the gym, just in the parking lot) and when asked if everything is okay, she says everything is fine. She just got a boyfriend so that may be a part of it. Also, she takes long bathroom breaks with her phone and disappears for a whole rotation (anywhere from 20-40 minutes). She said she has to be late because of school, and that may be, but I have some doubts and the long bathroom breaks point to that. The gymnast doesn’t apologize for being late or acknowledge it.

I don’t want to be a wild coach who monitors phone usage and bathroom breaks. But I’m frustrated at the abuse of my team and the rest of the team’s time when she’s in the parking lot but doesn’t come in or when she’s in the bathroom missing out on drills. And of course, I want to be sure she’s mentally okay.

TLDR Gymnast keeps showing up late, has been in the parking lot for long periods of time and takes long bathroom breaks with her phone

Sounds like a typical teen, at that age its super hard to be separated from non-gym friends for long practices. But any behavior changes can also be signs of issues or struggles, too. Have you talked to her parent(s) about your concerns? Do you have any phone rules? At our gym, they have to go in the lockers and do NOT come out unless its an emergency.

Sounds like a typical teen, at that age its super hard to be separated from non-gym friends for long practices. But any behavior changes can also be signs of issues or struggles, too. Have you talked to her parent(s) about your concerns? Do you have any phone rules? At our gym, they have to go in the lockers and do NOT come out unless its an emergency.