Coaches Are all gyms like this?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

How do you know its time to change gyms? I've been coaching at the same gym for about 5 years now and have gone nowhere. (not for lack of trying) Its simply because I never "did team" and the fact its all about favoritism. If the head team coach decides they don't like you (depends on the day) you don't get any opportunity to move up, such as help with pre-team or team.(I was "allowed" to help with preteam before this coach came in) But however say we have new coaches, never coached but they decide (team coach) that they like them they put them on to coach team (but with absolutley no training/technique). But say someone who has asked and has the skills to help coach team and has worked hard for years to be where they're at would like to do so isn't given the opportunity. And as for the owner of the gym, they're a great person (but they also pay favoritism with certain people), I have asked them if its about my coaching abilities but simply have been told no, that its because I am a great coach and they don't want to lose me from rec because they know I'll always show up and are great with the kids. But they'll take another person they've said that to and put them as a team coach. (we both have the same skill set)(I also trained this person). My question is are all gyms like this? I mean I know they are to an extent but both gyms Ive worked at have been this way. I don't know what to do, part of me would like to find a gym a can grow my coaching in but I feel extremely loyal to the gym I work at. I know I sound slightly arrogant but It starts to hurt when you get shut down over and over again and everytime they say its because you're a great coach/worker, but honestly its starting not to feel that way.

That's a tough one but if you really want to coach team it seems like you may have to move on and find another gym. Are there opportunities available locally?