Parents Lacking Team Support

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

YES. There is usually a long-established clique of moms, and your child will struggle to build relationships with teammates if you aren't friends with their parents. What can make things even worse is if your child is the youngest--then she will likely have no power and become the punching bag for the older girls. Double worse if your daughter is talented.
Wow, you hit the nail on the head. My daughter is not the youngest but everything else you posted = 100%.

Just chiming in to say that as a coach, I have missed awards exactly once in over 10 competitive seasons, and it was at state last year because the first session ran extremely late. My co-coach and I were in a position where only one of us could go to awards because we had a full group in the next session, which started on time (2 minutes after the last athlete in the first session finished! It was bonkers). Because we were on my events first, I coached the warm up and first event and she went to awards and texted me the updates so I could read them on my watch!

Your awards must also be different, because the team award for us is always after the last age group, so unless it is an emergency, no one would even want to leave. It's also not only rude to their teammate, but to everyone in that age group.
You sound like a really nice coach. But, no, our awards aren't different. My daughter went up to get our team award with one other girl who lingered around (but left the area where the gymnasts sit). My daughter was also thoughtful enough to get the medals for the girls who didn't stick around for their own awards (if you can believe that).

So we have exactly the same situation.