Anon Why is this a thing? (leotard required)

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Before I start- I am not trying to hate on leotards. I have other things to do than to rant about certain pieces of fabric. Also, people can and should wear whatever they want without being shamed for it, if its a bikini or a burka. . This question just comes from genuine curiosity.

The gym I go to now is only recreational and I have been considering to compete for a few months now. So my mom and I went to our local competitive gym to ask about Xcel silver tryouts. They said they were in May and in April I could come and take a test and if I passed I was welcome to come try out in May. We asked a few more questions and I asked if there were any dress code rules when taking the test or trying out. She told me the gym had a strict leotard-only policy and you could only wear shorts over in very certain circumstance, and leggings were not allowed in any situation.

There went the chance of ever competing.

I never even wear Bermuda shorts, let alone a leotard. I had one question: WHY?

The lady at the desk responded with, “We want to see the complete form of the gymnast and leggings could distract from that-“

Um. No.
Maybe a leotard bedazzled with rhinestones and beads would, but a solid pair of navy blue leggings are not going to blind any coaches. I understand not allowing baggy shorts or sweatpants but leggings!? That are literally form fitting to legs! Even unitards weren’t allowed. My mother and I left disappointed since they were very firm on the leotard-only rule.

does anyone know why they would do this? I don’t get it. At all. Why is this a thing? Why can’t we decide to wear something over what is basically a bathing suit?!? Some people are ok with showing their entire legs and that’s fine. But what about the people who aren’t?