Off Topic Gymnast Sanity

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

TheXcelMom

Gold Membership
Proud Parent
My DD has taken to watching "Dance Moms." There's plenty of equivalence with gymnastics. Lots of practice. Competitions. Some girls are "better" than others when they're like...eight or nine.
These women are bananas. Holy heck.
The things they say to their children, about their bodies, their talent, their results at comps, I cannot imagine thinking, much less saying.
Yes, the producers pick the craziest ones, but I can't imagine anyone on this forum being 10% this level of cray-cray.
Thank you all for making me believe gymnastics is sane.

off topic but I actually got into gymnastics because of Dance Moms! I started watching it and I loved the acro solos so I started learning tumbling and handstands and eventually transitioned to gymnastics!

But I definitely agree that the show was toxic and the things the mothers were saying was pretty messed-up. The long practice hours, however, are about the same as DP optionals though...

Given the opportunity, I might very well fall right into this insanity. I’d be this dramatic without the lipstick and sparkles.
Nah.
The funny thing is my daughter is a better dancer than athlete and I was going to get her into dancing if she quit WAG. Now, there is no way dance is in the cards.

Is that show still on? Was my guilty pleasure back in the early seasons, so I have not seen it is ages and may not be remembering it well, but I never believed it was a realistic portrayal and thought it was showing a lunatic fringe made even more looney by the cameras and the pressures and "stardom" of being on a reality show. During the competition footage, I remember thinking that everyone else including the judges and competition organizers seemed to be in a different world. I felt sorry for the non reality show competitors and their coaches and parents having that madness marring their event. Ugh.