Parents What's your secret?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

C

coffeebean13

Hi everyone!

It's been a while since I have posted here although I do check the forums regularly. It's been about 4 months now at our new gym here in WA (we moved from TX late March due to military relocation). Our DD has made some great friends and has been progressing like crazy in the new environment. We are so super proud of her! Now that we are almost settled here I was pondering the question: How do other families with children in gymnastics operate? What are your schedules like? Does anyone have outside employment? How has gymnastics changed your families?

Just curious!:)

Those are interesting questions! I do not work outside the home. I am a crafter/seamstress/jewelry designer, but I only do a few shows a year, and really it only brings in my play money. I have three kids who are all home schooled (I didn't home school so that DD could do gymnastics, it happened the other way around)

My DH does video taping/editing for whatever level our daughter is when we go to meets, and he makes videos for other parents that want them. It pays the meet fees, and most of the obligation fees, so that is a big help.

DD is a L5/L6, and currently goes to gym 3x a week 4 hours at a time. Not too bad during the summer, but it's harder during the school year because they go until 9:30 at night. And where we live it snows. Yuck!:indifferent:

My twin DS(5YO) will probably start some kind of sport this year, and I'm not looking forward to the running around. I will try to have it happen while DD is at the gym, since I will be out and about anyway.