Off Topic Let's share nicknames!

• Thread starter Deleted member 26368
  • Start date

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

D

Deleted member 26368

I thought it would be fun to have a thread to share gymnast nicknames! My DD hasn't been given one by a coach, but she and a teammate call each other "Lemon" and "Lime" (together they are "Sprite", LOL). :)

Ha, I always think of 10th grade English Lit and Geoffrey Chaucer when I see your screen name.
That was part of the origin.

EDIT since I know somebody will ask and I don't want to clog up the thread and make it all about me:

When I was a freshman in high school, I was a professional juggler at the local renaissance faire. My character was also a notoriously and hilariously bad poet. So I named my character Geoffrey Taucer as a pun. I've kept using the name as an internet pseudonym ever since. Given how active I am in various online communities (especially OCReMix and adjacent communities), I ended up spending enough time around people who met me first online that I got used to people calling me "Taucer" in person, and it's reached the point where if somebody says "Hey Taucer" I respond by reflex just as if they'd called out my real name..

Last edited:
Oh, something that just occurred to me:

Before posting your/your kid's nickname, make sure you/they aren't using it as a password or account verification question anywhere.

(And if you are, change that password; the majority of the time when accounts get "hacked," it's because somebody was able to successfully guess the password or the answer to a verification question)

YG was nicknamed Hashbrown by HC at her first meet. Since t was a home meet, we were able to wake up at home and eat a good breakfast before going to the meet. When we got there, YG was hungry so I bought her a doughnut. Before they started open stretch, a friend gave her a fruit and yogurt bar.