WAG A Beam Dismounts

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I'm an adult gymnast who's going to be competing NAIGC level 6 this year--it's my first time ever competing in any sport, let alone gymnastics. The program at my gym is very self-guided and self-coached, which includes coming up with routine compositions. I've been scouring YouTube on beam dismounts, but with lower level ones it can be hard to tell if it's something that's actually in the code or not.

My athletic background is mostly focused in ballet and martial arts, so I have a lot of very strong dance skills, but I'm working hard to build up the fundamentals of my tumbling and trying to make myself remember I'm well into my 30s and not quite as elastic as I was a decade ago. In terms of skill level, my floor passes will probably be a FT (needs some work, but can get there in time) and FHS-RO-Back extension roll (to be upgraded to BHS if I can get over a mental block). On beam, I'll probably be competing some kind of HS and CW variations for tumbling, as my back does not let me do the kinds of reps I'd need to get a consistent BWO.

FT and CW-BT seem to be the go-to dismount options, which makes sense because they're foundational skills that will help build to harder dismounts, and I think a FT will be my stretch-goal dismount. But I'd like to have a "safe" dismount--something that I can probably learn pretty quickly in case the salto dismount doesn't come quickly and to help keep me from getting in a place where I'm overthinking and fretting about a new skill to the point where I give myself anxiety attacks about it. Overthinking things is both my hobby and profession, but it doesn't help my gymnastics. Can anyone help with what other basic dismounts are in the code?

I found this youtube video. Unfortunately, I don't know if these are in the code. They seem pretty basic dismounts. Just trying to help out.