For Coaches A case of “the twisties”

Gymnast1893

Banned
Banned
Gymnast
May 27, 2021
Country
USA
I am currently 14 years old and a level 9 gymnast. I have been working on back twisting since I was 8 years old and I still can’t consistently do a back full. It appears I have a case of what everyone refers to as “the twistys” It has been messing up everything.
When I try to do a back layout my brain tells me “this would be a good full.” So I twist. I’ve read things saying this is vestibular but I don’t think it is. My issue isn’t that I don’t know where I am and it’s not that I haven’t put enough time into the basics. I have competed a half punch front for a while and I also love front twisting but I don’t like back twisting more than a half. It makes it really difficult to do stuff and it’s beginning to affect vault. I love doing double backs but I never get to them because I can’t warm up a layout. I’m fine if I never get more than a half but I need to be able to do a layout so that I can get bigger skills. My coaches are amazing and help as much as they can but I really need some more advice. Has anyone else been through this or coached someone like this? Thank you so much for your time<3

Geoffrey Taucer

Former Admin
Gold Membership
Coach
Former Gymnast
Jan 21, 2007
Baltimore, MD
Country
USA
I am very sorry, but you have to be 16 to participate on the Chalkbucket. I'm going to put 2-year ban on your account, but you should still be able to read replies. And you write very well, very clearly; I hope that when you're 16 and the ban expires, you'll come back and participate in our community!

To answer your question, I would go back to back salto basics on a trampoline. Here's a very rough outline of the progression, but if at all possible I recommend getting help from a T&T coach if one is available:
1) Back drop, pullover to front drop.
2) 3/4 back salto to front drop. Do this in all three positions.
3) Back tuck
4) Open back tuck