WAG AAU vs USAG

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

What is the difference in competing compulsories through AAU vs USAG? I've noticed more & more gyms competing AAU when we go to meets.

I think that they are doing AAU because for level 3 the AAU bar routine is better (no mill circle, you jump to high bar). It is still is way less used in my area than USAG; but I totally understand why some gyms choose it.

I think that they are doing AAU because for level 3 the AAU bar routine is better (no mill circle, you jump to high bar). It is still is way less used in my area than USAG; but I totally understand why some gyms choose it.

How do you know what the routines are? Is there some sort of COP for AAU? I have zero experience with this.

How do you know what the routines are? Is there some sort of COP for AAU? I have zero experience with this.

I just remember when the new routines came out and for a brief moment my YDD was going to compete AAU L3 when my ODD had competed USAG3 the season before. I'm not sure where they have it written down; but I bet that you can find examples on youtube. The main difference that I remember is that for AAU there is no mill circle (or shootthrough) and i think that there may not have been a front hip circle. Instead the girls jump to the high bar and do a long hang pullover. I think that the other routines are all the same, I think that they might even use the USAG music.