Parents Advice needed - explore other gyms or stick with this one?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

CTGymMom

Proud Parent
Hi Everyone - I am relatively new to the world of gymnastics. My 6yo daughter has been at her gym since she was 4. After 1 month of the rec class, she was moved to pre-team where she did 2 years before moving to level 3 team this past summer. She is the youngest on her team as the rest of the girls are 7 and 8.

I am concerned with how they coach as they focus mostly on the routine, not really on the basic fundamentals. I recently watched a competition with other level 3 girls from other gyms and there was no comparison to the polish and form shown by the other teams - our girls just don't have it - even the 8 year olds. I questioned my daughter why she didn't do a few things that the other girls did and she said she was never taught that way. All the girls moved up to team from pre-team, although there are clearly several who really should not have.

My daugher "has" all of her skills except the round-off back handspring (she can do a standing back hand-spring, but can't put the two together on the floor), but her form is wrong on almost all of them and I never see them corrected. We visited my friend recently whose daughter is a level 4 and she showed my daughter a few skills with the corrections and my daughter made the adjustments right away (straight legs, feet together on chin-up pullover).