Anybody Else Start Late?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I've been doing gymnastics for 4 years... 2 of the years I was in recreational gymnastics, and in those 2 years I got to the highest level. Which wasn't very impressive. So then I switched gyms so I could do competitive gymnastics.

Of course, I was not accustomed to new, harder skills and more diligent training, so it took me forever to catch up to the "pre-team" group that I am still in. I'm getting better and better, but I'm still in pre-team. I need to get to Level 4 to be on my gym's team... right now I'm Level 3 and 4. I have some level 4 skills but I'm still trying to get some level 3 skills.

Anyway, my friends (same age as me) are doing all these fancy round-off back tucks and that stuff while I just got my back walkover and my back hip circle.

I've never wanted to compete in the Olympics or something crazy like that. I only wanted to get to, well, States or something. And although I'm a bit old for my level, it doesn't bother me, and I'm trying my hardest to get on the team soon.

Anybody else start late like me? And do you do competitive or recreational gymnastics? Just wondering. :)

Last edited:
I started late too :) I began classes when I was 9 and then moved up to pre-team in about a month. Now I have been doing gym for 4 years and I'm a level 8.

You're lucky you didn't start at a bad gym. :) My first gym taught me NOTHING. All we did for 1 1/2 hours were handstand forward rolls. We weren't even allowed to use the vault OR the high beams!
I started late too :) I began classes when I was 9 and then moved up to pre-team in about a month. Now I have been doing gym for 4 years and I'm a level 8.

I started gymnastics about 1.5 yr. ago. I am 14 yrs old. Because of my age, I chose to do prep - opt which I am in intermediate. This means my current skill level is mostly 6 but missing a few skills.

Contrats on your progress, and good decision on switching gyms.