WAG Arm placement in full turn or any turn

GYMNASTICS
Parents... Coaches... Judges... Gymnasts...
DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members See FEWER Ads!
Join for FREE!
Nov 9, 2022
77
16
As far as I know... you can have them anywhere you want.
That sounds good. I trained them with arms kinda bent in front, kinda like ballet dancers, but at my new gym, the coaches insist on having arms in crown.. its not that hard but i just like the way I originally learnt. Thanks for replying btw
 

MuggleMom

Proud Parent
Dec 22, 2016
828
Virginia
My kid does them low by her side on both floor and beam so I am pretty confident you can put them anywhere as she scored well last year.
 

Aussie_coach

Staff member
Gold Membership
Coach
Proud Parent
Gymnast
Club Owner / Manager
Jan 4, 2008
4,017
Each coach will have their own personal preference. I teach turns with arms in crown, as it helps the gymnasts understand pulling UP in their turns. I personally find it eliminates a lot of problems.
 
  • Like
Reactions: txgymfan

procmadz

Gymnast
Fan
Jan 11, 2021
37
Are we allowed to land turns with the foot going backwards? Like so DD starts her full turn on beam with her right foot in front, makes it around, but doesn’t have the balance to step forward, so she brings her foot back behind the foot she is balancing on. Is there a deduction, and if so, what is it? DD is also competing Xcel gold this year if that helps
 
Nov 9, 2022
77
16
Are we allowed to land turns with the foot going backwards? Like so DD starts her full turn on beam with her right foot in front, makes it around, but doesn’t have the balance to step forward, so she brings her foot back behind the foot she is balancing on. Is there a deduction, and if so, what is it? DD is also competing Xcel gold this year if that helps
I'm pretty sure this is a deduction, and the skill may not be even counted. Your foot that's in passe/coupe should step in front of the turning foot. In case of your dd, she should step out her left foot in front of her after completing the turn.

If excel gold has a different requirement, im not too sure about that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jamieintexas
Sep 30, 2022
73
14
Are we allowed to land turns with the foot going backwards? Like so DD starts her full turn on beam with her right foot in front, makes it around, but doesn’t have the balance to step forward, so she brings her foot back behind the foot she is balancing on. Is there a deduction, and if so, what is it? DD is also competing Xcel gold this year if that helps
The skill wouldn't count if she lands with her foot behind. If she gets her foot on it counts and is only a .5 deduction where as without the foot in front, assuming she does not retry the turn, she would have a 9.5 SV with a .5 deduction for the fall, a top score of 9.0 if there are no form deductions.