WAG Coaches Expenses and Fees

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

When reimbursing coaches for their travel expenses and session fees, has anyone ever issued a 1099 for the session fees as non-employee compensation? We pay our coaches expenses from our Booster Club fundraising revenue. Any information and industry standards would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

I have a background in Accounting but I'm not an expert and I don't think you can give a 1099 as the boosters aren't really hiring them to do a job but paying expenses that are part of a fee that is part of attending a meet charged by the gym to the parents so you are just a middle man and paying on behalf of the parents. It is the expenses associated with going to the meet for each family just like the meet fees in general.

When our booster was still paying session fees...they would reimburse the gym...the gym paid the coaches. The session fees would come on our regular gym paycheck.

Our booster club pays the gym and the gym pays the coaches for the travel expense. The gym pays the session fees.

Is the Booster Club a 501(c)? If yes, it's a business -- just a not for profit business. Coaches fees may be applicable for reporting. Reimbursements, not. There's a minimum though (I think it's more than $600 in services). Key question is whether you're paying for services. Our old gym started issuing 1099-MISC to the coaches. The head coach was originally skeptical and called other gyms. They confirmed that's what other gyms were doing as well. Our current gym doesn't pay the coaches for services, so no 1099s required.

The IRS website is irs.gov -- lots of docs there. I would start with a general Internet search first though, so you can find an explanation in English first (and I say that as a tax professional and CPA).