Parents Exploring different activities or "sticking at it"?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Doubletrouble

Proud Parent
Hi,

I am a newbie with a DS7 and DD5 who have both been doing gymnastics for a couple of years. DS has been doing squad gymnastics for about 18 months and DD has been doing pre-team for ten months. DS does 2 x 3 hour training sessions and DD does 1 x 2 hour session.

My kids did rec for a couple of years before it didn't fit into our schedule and I had them stop. They wanted to go back so once our schedule allowed it, the returned and soon progressed from rec to team. They are both currently going through a bit of the "blahs" about gymnastics - probably for the last month as we get close to the end of the school year in Australia and they are tired and as gymnastics is becoming harder. They both have times where they enjoy it too.

I am feeling pretty torn at the moment between using gymnastics as a sport that keeps kids fit and teaches important life lessons about perseverance, self-discipline, being part of a team etc and feeling like I should follow the parenting "experts" recommendations to let kids explore lots of different activities. Our schedule doesn't really allow both, although my daughter also does ballet at her kinder. My stepdaughters (17, 16 and 13) went along the exploratory path and really regret that their mum let them swap activities several times a year; their dad and I wanted them to stick at least a year at each one.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

There are lots of ways to keep fit and get life lessons. Don't know what your summer schedule is like down under. It see,s though there is enough time try other things. They will find where they fit.

And I'm curious as to what kind of rec program there is at 2, Be wise we were ding Mommy and me then.