WAG Fear of roundoff BHS

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I'm 16 and I've been doing roundoff back handsprings since the year I started gymnastics when I was about 10. It's a physically easy skill for me and I'm also capable of doing multiple back handsprings and back tucks and layouts. About 6 months ago I fell on my head during my BHS and after that I started doing less and less until I couldn't do it anymore. I can (sometimes) do it on a tumble track or onto a big mat, but on the floor or on a sting mat I just can't get my self to do it. I feel like I've tried everything, I've visualized the skill, I've tried meditation, watching videos, and countless drills but I just haven't been able to do it and I can't figure it out. Also if you ask me why I'm scared I really don't know, I just feel like I'm going to fall on my head again but I know the chances of that are slim to nothing. What should I do :(

Something else is that I'm a sophomore in high school, I don't want to have to take a break from gymnastics because I only have two years left after this, and I don't want to waste any time if that makes sense

I also have gotten fears like that, and I felt like if I didn't get over them I would eventually quit. But for the love I have for the sport I kept pushing even though I was scared. Now I have gotten past all of my fears and all it took was self-confidence for me! For example saying metal things as "No Fear" and then trying to go. I would ask for spot and start all over with the basics. Also the self-confidence can help you on any event and with any skill. It helps me all of the time now!:) Just be confident that you can do this and that you have done it before. Your body knows physically how to do it and so you won't ever get hurt.:) You will get it, it just takes time!!:)

Gymdog,
Standing BHS are fine, and I can do standing back tucks too! It's really the connection that freaks my out