WAG Feedback on a project

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

cbifoja

Proud Parent
Background....I am a teacher and with my kids next year, I am going to implement Genius Hour in my classroom. This is based on Google's 20% policy if you are familiar with this. Over the summer, I want to complete a full project as a model of the depth of effort and final product to help my kids understand the kinds of subjects/projects they should envision before embarking on their own passion project.

There have been several threads about D1 gym programs and how they can be rough on their athletes. I've read some blog posts from links that CBers have posted that share personal experiences from gymnasts attending some different schools. However, for my project, I want to quantify athlete retention.

I think as far as data analysis, I am doing things right. What I will do (have already done a few), is sort year by year rosters (going to use 5 years of data) and see how many athletes left from year to year. I can them compute a rate of retention by percentage.

Where I am needing help/feedback... in years where a program has lost an athlete (reason isn't relevant for this project), but has also had someone transfer in, the calculated retention rate would be 100%. Now obviously this isn't entirely accurate since the program did lost an athlete. However, doesn't it seem relevant that an athlete chose to enter the program beyond their freshman year? Or are athletes who don't enter a program as freshmen invalidating my data and therefore should be excluded from all calculations?

Thoughts?

There are reasons athletes transfer in and out of programs....out (off team) generally because:

*they've been told that their scholarship will be cut
*that they won't compete
* that they never competed and are sick of training like a madman and not competing