Parents First mental block: back tuck off beam

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

H

HopefulTeamGymnast

Hello everyone!
Im 13 and I started gymnastics In September 2022. (Yes I know that’s pretty late ) This is my first sport.
Im currently working on a back tuck off the high beam.. but I am absolutely terrified of hitting my head on the beam. I go to gymnastics once a week on Saturday’s. I started practicing this skill the week before last. Last week, I was doing it fine with a spot, and the coaches said I could try it without a spot this week. But I couldn’t even do it with a spot because I was just too scared to hit my head. They said that it’s not possible to do that but they were really nice and told me to take my time. I really didn’t want to leave scared of a skill, but I did. This is my first mental block. I know gymnastics comes with a lot of mental blocks.
I have an adjustable beam at home, it’s 8ft long, and goes from the floor to 23 inches high. I can always do it when it’s on floor mode but I feel like if I landed the way I did on high beam I might hit my head. Here are my questions:
1. Has anyone actually hit their head on the beam from a tuck dismount or is it possible to because I feel like it’s a silly fear
2. Should I keep practicing it on my floor beam (I’m not going to actually try it on high mode at home but maybe some tuck jumps onto my mat)
3. What are some drills I can do?
4. Is there a way to get over this fear?? I don’t want my fear to block my way from a skill that I was just doing last week. It’s not a good feeling and I can be hard on myself sometimes
Thanks and sorry if this was long!

It is possible to hit your head on the beam doing a back tuck off. Sometimes people travel forward on their back tuck, but if you don’t do that when you do a back tuck on floor, it’s unlikely you will do that off beam.

You can also fall forward after you land.