WAG Front tumbling for xcel platinum?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymnast9261

Gymnast
I am not a strong back tumbler, I have roundoff, but not a back handspring. I'm moving into my gym's xcel program this season (2015-2016), and I'm not sure what tumbling passes I can do and meet the requirements. I have a front handspring, front handspring step out, and close to a front tuck. I know I don't have alot of options, but if you had ideas as to skills I could uptrain, or connections to work on, that'd be great! :D

Raenndrops is a great source of info for Xcel, search some of her posts as I am sure she has posted lots of the requirements!!
It sounds very ambitious to try for Xcel Platinum based on your skill set but I am by no means an expert. I think Platinum in general requires L5-6-7 skills...
Best of luck!!

If you are moving into Xcel without a back handspring, are you sure you would be Platinum.
Unless you were a L5 or higher, you should probably start in Gold.
For tumbling passes in Gold, you could work FHS step out to roundoff and Front tuck.

You could also try training a RO-BT. We have a few girls that couldn't do a BHS, but were able to do the BT.
Platinum: FHS step out to roundoff and RO-BT or FHS-FT or a Front Pike.

For platinum the coaches are looking for fh punchfront or punchfront step out front handspring. You need a robhbt or rolayout bc they are basing it off of the working towards 7 sheet I think. And you'll need a kip!

For platinum the coaches are looking for fh punchfront or punchfront step out front handspring. You need a robhbt or rolayout bc they are basing it off of the working towards 7 sheet I think. And you'll need a kip!
Every gym is different.
Minimum Platinum Floor Requirements are:
1. Min. 2 directly connected Flight skills with 1 “A” or “B” Salto.
2. Either a 2nd acro connection with a min. of two directly connected Flight skills OR an isolated “B” Salto.