Off Topic Going to the loo during lesson time.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I am a primary school teacher (year 5). I don't let children go to the loo during lessons. Would you have a problem with this as a parent?

If it was for a medical problem, yes.

If it was a habitual offender, no. Some kids just like to waste time for no good reason.

More than once, I’ve witnessed a child having an accident out on the floor, so be careful. I’d remind them to go before class, but be very hesitant to restrict unless they were seen fooling around when allowed.

Yes, I would. Here in the US kids are in school for very long days with only very short breaks. When you have to use the bathroom, you’ve got to use the bathroom. I wouldn’t like if someone told me I had to hold it all day, and these are kids. I’ve had to take on this situation when my kids were in public school. My daughter’s teacher allowed two bathroom passes per semester. I was absolutely not ok with my daughter being in tears because she had to wait three hours to use the bathroom after school.

Yes, I have a problem with restricting the bathroom. A good teacher can tell if a child is taking advantage of a rule. DS simply had to hold up the sign for T get up and use the bathroom.

Our school gives 4 minutes between classes and something like 23 minutes for lunch, so the only time the kids can actually use the bathroom is during instructional time.

Yes I would have a problem with that, whilst I think it’s good to try to encourage children to use the toilets during break time if a child needs to go then it’s not good to make them hold on. Have you ever tried to concentrate when you need to go to the toilet?