Parents Hi CB Parents and crew!! I need a little advice about, well.... taking advice.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hello CB!!! Woot woot! Wow have things changed! I'm still learning this "new" look. :)

Cutting to the chase:
DD Nastia, L5, 11 YO.

Nastia's year is going fine, but my concern is her taking and accepting coach corrections. Her coaches are making the same corrections over and over and over, and Nastia will make the adjustment once, and then go back to same ol same ol. This is fine, and almost expected for the first few months, but 7 months into L5 seems to pushing the limit of tolerance.

For example, She has this thing about grabbing the bar with her hands too close together during her kip. She literally can't fit her body between her hands when coming up to front support, and is forced to make the adjustment mid-routine. It's become second nature for her. You can see the frustrations on her bar coaches face when this happens. You can see it on my face. On Nastia's face, we see.. "What?? I thought that was pretty good?!"

All in all, Her progress in some areas is getting stalled, and I "think" it's because shes taking coach corrections as "suggestions" rather then required fixes. DW and I have been pretty zip-lipped about things, allowing the coaches to manage their athletes. In my last conversation with the HC, basically she said exactly the same thing. She's doing OK, but less then expected, and it's because she's not absorbing corrections. In fairness, the coaches have 48 members on team. So we've been trying pvt lessons when we can for more one-on-one time.

Soooooo... what to do??? I need some type of magic Elixir, 5 gallons should about do it, to dump on Nastias head and at the same time, bop her on the head with the bucket!! I just don't know if there is anything I can say - or should say, but I'm open to ideas.

Is it just a "time-will-tell" thing, or is there something I can do to help "motivate" expectations.