WAG Highschool and Injuries

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

lsl8303

Coach
It’s only the third day of practice there is already an injury. An ankle roll from a round off was the culprit. I have heard nothing but terrible things about injuries with high school gymnastics and as a very prudent coach I never imagined there would be an injury on the team I coached so soon (I've gone 15 years with only a sprained ankle as a JO coach). It just seems like many of the girls aren't working out over the summer. It is not skill level, it is the athletic condition of the athletes that leads to many of these injuries. The problem is I have some girls who work out all summer at Club and I have some girls who do nothing all summer (que injuries here). I can't require them or even suggest they need to work out over the summer, nor can I exclude them from activity based on this fact alone.

Is there a way to measure ankle and wrist strength in your gymnast? I’m thinking if I can come up with some general requirements I may be able to address any weaknesses with athletes who need extra conditioning before they get an injury.

The more conditioning they do the better. Lots of calf raises, ankle abcs, shin burners, etc. Build a strong core.
Maybe suggest tiger paws for them? And resistance band ankle work?