Parents How effective are Sports Psychologists?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Ladybugsmom

Proud Parent
Gymnast
Hi there!

This is my first time posting after several weeks of reading many awesome posts on this forum!

My 8 year old DD just began training to compete Level 7 at a new gym. She is a super strong and powerful gymnast, and I am extremely proud of her hard work in this sport.
BUT, I know my daughter. Although fearless for the most part (with gymnastics), she is highly emotional when she feels overworked and becomes tired. The tears just flow, and asks to take a break from the gym when this happens. Of course I let her (typically no more than one week) because she truly needs it, but I am thinking about the future as skills and difficulty level increases tremendously over the next few years. Her new gym coach informed me that a few times a year they have a sports Psychologist at the gym to meet with each upper level gymnast for their mental blocks and to help them overcome these. How effective are sports psychologists in gymnastics? Should I have my DD start seeing one now or wait until zomething comes up first? Would love to hear any tips and advice you may have! Thanks so much!!!

This is just MY opinion for MY child, but the day my kid needs a psychologist to do her optional sport activity is the day we start looking for something else to do. And I say this as the parent of a kid who has had fears and mental blocks for years over many things (BWO on beam, BHS on beam, twisting on floor, giants, Tsuk vaults, etc.)

If her anxiety and fear was creeping into other areas of her life and making her not be able to handle daily life & tasks, it would be different. But the fact that she was afraid to do a BHS in a skinny piece of wood 4 feet in the air sounds perfectly normal to me.