Anon How to know when to quit gymnastics

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I’ve been doing gymnastics for over 10 yrs now, and I haven’t exactly made it to the level I thought I would when I started gymnastics, I haven’t even made it to where I thought I would 3 years ago, this is mainly due to my mind and where I got started in gymnastics. I am a Diamond gymnast and last year I sat out due to a back injury so I thought I’d come back very strong and Ready for the new season, but since that injury last year I’ve felt so numb and un motivated for gymnastics, it doesn’t matter if I get a new skill or not I always feel just meh. Never omg I just did that which is how I used to feel. I can’t really remember a world without gymnastics but honestly right now I don’t even think I want to do it. Since this is a forum with a whole lot of other gymnasts I was hoping someone could give me some advice, I’ve talked to friends and it just kinda varies, it’s scary and sad but also exciting when I think about quitting.

I tried to stick things out when I felt similarly, but wish I would have quit sooner than I did. I ended up pouring all of my energy into track and actually doing all the off season workouts and camps for the first time and it paid off. I had an amazing pole vault season that spring and then went off to college and ran cross country and track. I really like how things turned out, so if you feel like your gymnastics journey might be ending, consider taking that pause. As an adult, I go to some open gyms and still enjoy gymnastics based conditioning. I know in our area at least Jr high and high school rec classes are growing too, and there are a number of all ages open gyms available if you want to keep a foot in the door while exploring what the end might look like.