WAG Jade Carey question

Tweb

New Member
Fan
May 26, 2021
7
49
Country
USA
Does Jade have to compete at Nationals or Trials as she has already qualified for the Olympics?
 

amiandjim

Active Member
Former Gymnast
Proud Parent
Apr 18, 2015
1,632
44
Country
USA
No, but she has said she plans to and there is talk of her giving up her spot and going for the main team. I personally don’t think it should be allowed, but apparently it would be.
 

PeanutsMom

Member
Proud Parent
Jun 14, 2019
124
Country
USA
No, but she has said she plans to and there is talk of her giving up her spot and going for the main team. I personally don’t think it should be allowed, but apparently it would be.
This brings up a second question for me. If she goes as an individual, not one of the 4 person team, she can do all sessions except for the team ones. Therefore, the 2 person per country for AA and event finals wouldn't include her? So therefore the US could have 3 potential AA gymnasts and 3 per event in apparatus finals? Or is it still 2 per country?
 

amiandjim

Active Member
Former Gymnast
Proud Parent
Apr 18, 2015
1,632
44
Country
USA
No. She could make AA or event finals, but the 2 per rule still applies