WAG JO National Team Question

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

AV24

Proud Parent
I've done a search and can't seem to find what I'm looking for. Some of the girls from our gym are competing at the JO LV 10 nationals this weekend, and I noticed that the top scoring girls will be named to the national team. How is that team different from the USAG elite national team? Do they have extra competitions, or is it more of a prestige thing? I have no dog in this fight, I'm just a curious newbie spectator. :D

Can you link to that piece of information. The National Tea is very small and select and most L10's do not have the skills to be elite. DO you mean the superteams?

This is on gymnastike:

What’s at stake?
The best level 10 gymnasts in the country are battling for national titles in the all around as well as all four individual events in each of the eight age division. The top four all around finishers in each age division earn a spot on the JO National team and receive invitations to attend the JO National team training camp at the Karolyi Ranch.

I just noticed through that link that under National Teams, they have Senior, Junior, and JO categories. So it's definitely a different situation from the elites. I think it must be more of a prestige thing like TOPS - where you are invited to camps at the ranch, but that's it.

Yes, that is what I think it is. It is not National Team it is Junior Olympic National Team. Though kids have gone directly from L10 Nats to Elite, but it is a rare thing.

It is just a national training camp. It doesn't go beyond that in terms of more competitions, etc. But it's a great opportunity to work with top level coaches and if a gymnast is looking to go elite, I would think it is a great way to get noticed! For those who don't get in the top 4, they are still eligible for other national and regional training camps.