Coaches Kids crying during practice

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Geoffrey Taucer

Staff member
Gold Membership
Coach
Gymnast
From: http://www.chalkbucket.com/forums/parent-forum/29117-getting-kicked-out-gym.html

My gymnast is almost 12 going into level 9, and has started crying in gym everyday and gets kicked out everyday? She does not know why she is crying and does not want to quit. The parent in me is frustrated I pay for her to be here and kicking her out is not solving it. As a former coach I understand her coach is frustrated and their is a safety issue, I also get the issue of what it looks like to rec kids and parents and the time and distraction it takes from the kids who want to be here. As a Mommy I overanalyze it and think my poor baby ( I Never Vocalize This) I do not know what hat to wear so I try them all and nothing is working. We are going to cut back on hours and see if that helps. Any suggestions?

One girl at my gym was like this from about 10 to about 12 years old. She would regularly have all out uncontrolled screaming crying breakdowns. Now, three years later, she's matured out of it, blossomed spectacularly as a gymnast, and has quite possibly the best attitude in the whole gym.

So don't worry too much: the problem is likely temporary, and is not necessarily a crippling and career-ending issue.