WAG Level 10?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi, I'm currently a level 5/6 gymnast and I'm a freshman in high school. My dream is to be a collegiate gymnast, or to reach level 9/10 before I graduate high school. I was told by my coaches that I can move up to Level 7 next summer. (Before sophomore year) Once I reach that level, I will be training 16-20 hours a week. Is my goal achievable? (I'm very dedicated to goals once I set my mind to them btw.)

Of course it is possible, but it will be difficult to achieve. It's good that you are dedicated to your goals because you will definitely need that dedication. If you compete level 7 sophomore year, and compete a level up every year after that you can compete level 9 in your senior season. However, a lot of girls tend to repeat level 8 and level 9, so it is going to be a challenge to move up a level every single year, and even if you get to level 9 by your senior year, you will need to be an outstanding level 9 in order to be accepted to any college gymnastics programs, even as a walk on. The only way you'll be able to make it to level 10 by the time you graduate high school, is by skipping levels. This route is even more difficult, but it is possible. Either way, I think it is possible for you to achieve your goal of being a level 9 if you work really hard. However, it's pretty unlikely that you will become a level 10 or make it to a college gymnastics team. Another option to consider after high school is adult gymnastics. I know that adult gymnastics is becoming more and more common, so if you want to continue your gymnastics career after high school, it won't be too difficult to find a gym that has adult classes. My advice to you is to work your butt off and make every second that you have in the gym count. Tell your coach your goals and ask them how they can help you achieve them. Good luck!