Parents Level 2 - 12 hrs/week training?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

NS1212

Proud Parent
Hi,
I'm new to this team gymnastics. My daughter, who is 5, was on pre team at her gym and was training 5 hrs/week. She was invited to Level 2 (by a letter in her mailbox), which requires 3, 4 hour sessions per week.

Does this seem like a lot of hours for Level 2 and for a 5 year old?

I'm concerned about the hours of training for such a young girl.

Yes - that's quite a lot for that level and age. My daughter did 4 hours a week at old level 3/new 2 and did just fine at competitions.

yes - but I'm in the UK so its different. My DD is approx level 6 equivalent and is training 9 hours a week over 4 days, she is 10.

Is she in kindergarten this year or starting next year? I'm not sure how it is where you are, but kindergarten is full day here. My very energetic dd was exhausted for the first month or so, transitioning from running around outside all day to being stuck inside for 7 hours straight. She still did fine in the gym, but if your dd will also be changing school hours, you may want to let her do one transition at a time.

That is 1 more hour a week than my 10 yr old L4. I'm curious, how many hours do your L4's train? Because it would be good to look forward to see what will be required of her in the future.

I think that's too many hours for a 5 yr old. Our level 2's do 6 hours. I think the youngest is 6 yrs old in first grade.

Thanks everyone. Yes, she will be starting kindergarten in the fall, which is 7 hours/day.
Level 4's train the same amount, 12 hours. I have not found any other gyms in the state that train Level 2's this many hours.

She will be going to school 8am-3pm, then gymnastics 4:30-8:30pm (twice during the week, then Sat mornings for 4 hours), prob in bed by 10pm during the weeknight trainings. It seems like so much to ask of a 5 year old.