Coaches MAG Front Layout Vault

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Art

Coach
Gymnast
Judge
So, I know this is one amongst a number of front layout threads but I still need help. I just did a bit of searching through the forum and came across a few interesting discussions but not sure they really cover my viewpoint.

So I'm a MAG coach here in NZ, and got two level 3 boys moving up to level 4. Level 3 vault is an underswing front tuck. Level 4 is an underswing front layout. the underswing approach is mentioned in the technical details.

Now....First of all I'd like to check my understanding here. A few people I know understand this the same as I do, and the rest seemingly never really focused on the difference.

Punch jump - is an under arm swing action that takes place before the feet strike the beat board/contact point on floor, meaning that the arms are at the ears when they hit the beat board/floor.
Stretch jump / underswing - is where the under arm swing action takes place when/as the feet make contact with the beat board/floor and pulls you up as you lift. So the arms start behind on first contact then reach your ears as you travel up. (Using the weight of your arms to pull higher for the first moment as your feet stop touching the board/floor.)

Is that correct? Thats always been my understanding of it. Stretch jump/underswing take off, and the punch jump takeoff.

The way I understand it the boys need to use the stretch jump technique for these vaults, and after reading a poll on here, most of you seem to think when hitting the beat board the arms are already halfway up? sorta a mix between the punch and stretch jump?

Second problem of mine is the arm action used through the actual layout.
Been reading here about the tight arch vs the hollow technique, but they all seemed to be talking about floor, and nothing was mentioned about the entry with an underswing or a punch.

Technique 1.