WAG New Mantra: I am not her coach

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

LindyHopper

Proud Parent
Okay, I have come across this struggle for the first time in Short Stack's gymnastics career.

I am not a coach. I realize this.
I have never attempted to coach my daughter, because, 1) it's not my role 2) I know that I don't understand enough about the sport and skills to speak intelligently about it.

Compulsory floor routines were included in the above. The problem? she has moved on to optionals.

I spent 12 years of my life as a member and/or choreographer of various show choirs (for those who don't know: groups that sing and dance simultaneously), and I've been socially swing dancing for the past 20 years. So, for once, I feel like I have some applicable knowledge. And part of me is so excited for/with her and says "Yay! I finally found part of the sport I can share with her."

I am REALLY struggling with wanting to help my daughter with the dance parts of her routine--helping count it out and help her find the right beats. I feel like I could help her appear more musical (which is one of my biggest pet peeves about floor routines--lack of musicality).

I haven't overstepped. I haven't done anything I shouldn't. I haven't said much of anything beyond telling her what I would do when learning and practicing a new dance. (That ends up sounding like a "in the olden days" story to her) But that doesn't mean that I haven't been tempted.

I am not her coach. I am not her coach. I have seen with my own eyes that coach/choreographer is very musical. I need to trust that coach/choreographer will get her where she needs to be. It's not my role. I am not her coach. I am not her coach.

Now to make sure that I don't forget it.

You are doing great!
I get it. I have my personal trainers license. My kid asked me if she could do a bit extra conditioning at home. Sure, i said...ask the coach what he would like...and then have daddy do it with you.:D