WAG Newbie here

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Mrs_C

Proud Parent
Hi everyone, first post!

Bit about us...my 7 yr old DD started rec gym last year at non competitive club and enjoyed it. I decided to change to a nearby competitive club at the start of this year and straight away she was asked to do a trial session for Club Level 1 (I'm in Australia). She was offered a place and has competed in 2 regional comps, she did well and enjoyed all the hoo-haa.

So now her club as offered her a month trial to train in their National Development Squad level 2 and her training has increased from one 2.5 hr session to 9 hrs over 3 days. The days and times clash with my work commitments which are not flexible.

I'm laying here unable to sleep because I need to make a decision on whether or not to quit my permanent part time job and go casual (still at the same organisation) where I can control the days and hours more to suit DD's training. I know that the hours are only going to increase and days will be added down the track so flexibility on my part is important. Husband works full time and his hours are not flexible either so it will really be up to me.

I love that she seems to have a knack for gymnastics and that she enjoys it.

Questions I have are :
How have parents worked around their child's training? Have you sacrificed your career to fully support them?

Also how much has their gym career impacted on your family emotionally/financially/physically?

Hello and welcome!

Noone can know your exact situation. You are correct that if she continues, the commitments are likely to increase. You are correct that there are sacrifices, but ones that many find are worth it.