Anon NGA vs Xcel

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

NGA is very similar to Xcel. My understanding is that NGA is intended for college track gymnasts, but at this point in time, there are low numbers of upper optional NGA gymnasts. I think some gyms are testing the waters by having their optional gymnasts compete both NGA and USAG. To further complicate things, NGA also has an Xcel track. I think it is too early to tell if NGA can produce college gymnasts.

My kids spent a year on NGA. The scoring was much higher. There are less deductions from what I understand. There is no reciprocity between NGA and USAG, so both girls repeated their levels after switching to a closer gym that competes USAG.

I think it depends on your goal. If you are looking to have fun, I think either Xcel or NGA are great choices.

Not to further confuse things as I am by no means an expert, but our girls compete Xcel in both NGA and USAG meets. For the most part they are the same but the vault requirements for NGA are different, so my daughter does a different vault at the NGA meets that she does at the USAG meets. I haven't noticed any major difference in scoring.

Not to further confuse things as I am by no means an expert, but our girls compete Xcel in both NGA and USAG meets. For the most part they are the same but the vault requirements for NGA are different, so my daughter does a different vault at the NGA meets that she does at the USAG meets. I haven't noticed any major difference in scoring.
Oh geez. I don't know if it is confusion about how to score NGA since it is a relatively new program, but I have seen level 7 and level 8 bar routines posted by NGA on their social media that are scoring 9.8-9.9, and there is absolutely no way these routines would get those scores in USAG. Someone else familiar with NGA in another thread said that the cast handstand requirements are different in NGA. I am not sure if this is across the board though for NGA versus USAG.