WAG Preschool gymnastics program

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi! So I've been coaching preschool gymnastics for about 7 years and the program at my gym has changed quite a bit. Before, for 3-4 year olds we used to do three seperate circuit. It was so that there were less kids with each coach. One was more focused on bar/hanging skills, one on floor/jumping skills and one on beam/balance skills. Also, since we did all three of them during one class, the kids wouldn't get bored. Now a new coach decided to put all the kids in one big group and to only do one big circuit. The thing is sometimes, we have up to 18 kids in one group and doing the exact same circuit for about 45 minutes is so long and boring for the coaches and the kids. What is it like at your gym? How do preschool classes work?

I don’t remember what the classes were like at our gym, but they were definitely smaller! Your current situation sounds like a nightmare. I have a feeling it will take care of itself. I can’t imagine parents being ok with that setup. Parents will complain/pull their kids out, then maybe you’ll see a change. Omg- why would anyone think that many preschoolers managed by one person would be ok?! It’s stressing me out!

My youngest is in preschool class- they have about 10 in the class, (some preschool classes have more) and move through set up circuits (usually 4 or 5) in a 50 min class. So with warmup/stretching they are usually only doing one circuit for 5–10 mins. I can’t imagine trying to keep a preschoolers attention for 45 mins doing the same thing over and over...

Reactions: sce
I am not the regular coach for the preteam group, I have however taken over when the teachers were sick. There were 7 in the group.