WAG Question about low bar height

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymnastmom05

Proud Parent
First, this is my first time posting. My daughter is a 10 yr old, level 5 gymnast. Everything I have learned has been through my daughters experience with gymnastics (this will be her 4th year competing) and reading things on here. Due to a very minor injury earlier in the week, my daughter was at the gym last night to run through her routines before a meet this weekend just to make sure she was fine to compete. That meant I was there since it wasn't a long practice for her. Anyway, I noticed when she was practicing her low bar portion of her routine on a practice bar (just a low bar used during stations) her casts were good (at least above horizontal). When she went to the bar set and did her full routine, her casts were very small. I mentioned to her how big her casts were on the one bar and she told me they're much better on that bar because it's not as high. She said the other bar (low bar with the set - not sure of the terminology!) is too high (her and another girl are pretty short - they're by far the shortest on her team of 15 or so girls) so when she (and her friend) start, they're having to jump up and she said it's messing up her kip which is in turn hurting her casts. She seemed to know what she was talking about since she started from the beginning with the bad kip being the problem. I guess my question is - is there a set height that they must use or is it that the coaches are just using one height for all and at this point, it's just making it more difficult for the shorter ones? Not that I can really change it either way, just curious.

IMO, it's just the height the coach has the bar set at during practice.....the low bar can be changed during the competition and so can the distance between bars for each athlete, and they do a lot of switching!!!!