Questions

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I'm new to the whole gymnastics scene so please bear with me. First off we took our DD and DS to a new gymnastics gym to try out on Friday. This is a very large facility and it's in a metal building. I was very shocked to find out that there is no air conditioning in the gym part....ever! All they do is open up some screened in large bay doors and have some industrial fans running. We live in Florida so it's hot. The gym was so hot and it stunk to high heaven in the gym part. Is it normal to practice in these conditions? ( meaning no air )

Second, the gym has open gym every Friday night. This is the same time as DD and DS's classes would be. When we went in the gym part there was a group of kids acting like fools and getting on all the gym equipment with no supervision. It looked very dangerous. This doesn't seem like normal practice in a gym setting. The owner was there and didn't bat an eye at the situation.

And lastly, In my son's class there were kids pinching him,pushing,trying to trip him while he was doing his drills. The coach said nothing. DH wants to sit in on his next class and address the issue since our son is only 5. WWYD?

All in all we liked the gym,They did alot of activities with the kids and the kids love it. Both kids want to go back but DH and I are worried about their safey. Any opinions?

Thank you!

Hi!

Our gym doesn't have a/c, but we are in Connecticut. I didn't think that Florida would have anything without a/c:eek:

I would not like the open gym during my child's class time either. Our gym doesn't do open gym because they feel that it is too dangerous.

I'd look around to see if there are any other options available to you. It seems as if you have several reservations about this gym.