Parents Retirement and telling coaches

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

WingingIt

Proud Parent
My daughter has decided this will be her last season. I'm kinda sad but I know this is the right decision for her. We have 3 more meets left (last one in late June since we do USAG and AAU). When would you tell the coaches? I don't want to tell too early because I worry they'd coach her differently but I don't want to just spring this on them either. We've been at the same gym for 7 years.

**I do suspect they know she's not loving it anymore**

I would wait to tell them until after the last meet. It is possible that they will coach her differently. I would not worry about springing it on them. Many girls leave the sport and that normally happens at the end of the season.

As a coach, I have never coached an athlete differently knowing it's the end of their time with us. I would personally like to know because I can help them celebrate it even more and enjoy the end of this chapter for them. And it's likely they're already guessing she may be getting ready to be done, we often speculate on this. It can be helpful to have that confirmation.

As a coach, I never treat a gymnast differently if I know they are retiring.

Quite the opposite, I want them to have a fantastic experience to finish their gymnastics career on a high note. Then they go away with fabulous memories.

I also coach them with the same feedback and corrections as I would any of the kids who are continuing, right up to their last day.

You never know if they will come back, use their gymnastics for another activity like cheer or even become a coach one day.