Round off back tucks and layouts... going backwards

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

henrik541

Gymnast
So, long story short, I started practicing round off back tucks, my coach said it doesn't look like a back tuck at all, so i should start doing pikes, I can't pull up my pikes, so they end up being layouts. :D

So, now I'm training back layouts, but whatever the position is, I can't seem to get rotation for the flip.
These are the problems my coaches keep pointing:

1. My round off is crooked and short.
  2. My arms don't go right up after the round off.
  3. I can't tuck properly, it's more like a "puck". Layouts are like whipbacks.
  4. MOST ANNOYING: Everytime I throw my arms up to gain height, my back bends (like in a bhs) instead of keeping straight.

These are the main problems I can think of right now. What can I do to correct them? Specially the last one! :(

For the last one...try stretching your feet out behind you more in your round off. If your feet are underneath you like the would be to go into a back handspring and then you try to set, you are going to go more back than you will up. Having your feet behind you more forces you to go up. This should help #4 and maybe #2. Just remember to keep setting, but also to stretch your feet behind you

First problem first.....fix your round-off, it will make the next problem easier to fix, and that helps everything else that follows.

Maybe consider finding another coach. The idea that you were told to train round off piles because your tucks were poor and now you are doing layouts is actually quite scary.

these skills can result in very serious injuries if they are not executed consistently. A good coach wouldn't a
allow you to put any skill on your round off until it was of a good standard.

...try stretching your feet out behind you more in your round off...
thanks, i'll try this as soon as I can :)

...fix your round-off...