Parents Self taught...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Olga

Proud Parent
This is a re-post from the gymnastics thread. I'm still getting used to knowing where to post:)
Hello everyone, I've been a long time lurker and finally decided to post. My dd (11) has been teaching herself gymnastics since she was 9. Surprisingly, she got a TON of new skills (round off bhs bhs, back walkover on "beam" etc. Since we're moving to Australia soon, I talked to a gym in the area and they'd put her in AUS L5. But that's 15hrs commitment per week. I guess I'm sort of worried because now she practices around 3-4 hrs. I'm wondering how she will also deal with the schoolwork as she'll be going to middle school. Any suggestions?

Is she in a gym now? How can she do all these "self taught" things on beam?
Self taught usually does not mean they know how to do the skills correctly....does the gym youcalled know she hasn't been coached?
There are many other things you need to figure out first prior to having her train 15 hours a week.

i agree - get her assessed and let the gym see where her skills are. bars skills need to be learned in the gym. i don't know how that level compares to US levels. but if it's like level 5 here, self-taught practicing here and there on her own at home wouldn't get her into level 5 here in the US. doing a BWO on a "beam" is different than doing a BWO on a regulation beam in the gym. the height can cause issues even if the gymnast can do it perfectly on a low beam (we are going through this with a beam series with my gymmie).

your kid could be a super star and could catch up right away once she's in a gym setting with real equipment and actual coaches. but her form could be really messy going into the gym and she may need to relearn all she's taught herself. but you need an assessment and coach's opinion .