Parents Setting Expectations

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymmom0826

Proud Parent
This is my daughter's first year on team. She is competing Xcel Bronze and has been frustrated with the results. From what I understand from another team mom our gym doesn't do just the basic bronze requirements but instead adds in extra skills. Because of this our girls are getting killed by the other teams that are just doing the bare minimum which is minimizing deductions. I understand that in the long run this will be to our benefit but it's hard to explain to a child (8 years old) that their scores most likely will not be competitive for a few more years. Any advice on how to address this with my daughter? I have no experience with gymnastics. Her AA scores usually range from 34.400- 34.900 is this good?

I think it's good as long as shes working hard to get those scores. My DD doesn't compete yet but when she does I'm going to try to emphasis having fun, doing her best and not worrying about scores. (Easy for me to say now [emoji23])

Focus on skills not numbers.

Focus on improvement.

And 34-35 are good scores.

I don't focus on expectations.....(other than attending practice and behaving) I have trained my daughter not to focus on scores......this is hard because natural competitors want to win, what to beat their teammates and want to be on the podium. The problem is focusing on the destination, not how you got there.....
Focus on listening carefully during practice. Paying attention when the coach corrects her, AND others......work very hard at hitting your routines AT practice....focus on conditioning correctly....
This is hard for kids. They don't see the Forrest for the trees.....it will get better as you get older.
My only advice is to be careful setting expectations during meets because it puts undue additional stress on the kid, thus increasing chances of falling......