WAG Shoulder Flexibility and beam back walkovers, any input welcome!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

cadybearsmommy

Proud Parent
After reading some horror stories here about back problems as a result of beam back walkovers, I wanted to get some input on dd. I'm not an expert but to me it seems like she doesn't have the best shoulder flexibility. I've seen from reading here that kids with less shoulder flexibility tend to overcompensate with their lower backs and that can lead to trouble. DD did BWO's on the floor for years with no problems. I've noticed that doing them on the beam is different. She really has to stretch her back out beforehand and she jokes that she feels like an "Old Granny" reaching back on the beam. I've also noticed her popping her back, stretching it out more than ever before even at home. She says everyone on her team pops their backs like that and it helps keep them from being stiff. She has not reported any significant back pain to me, every once in a while she will have a little muscular discomfort in her back (just like she also does from time to time with her knee, ankle, shoulder, etc) much like any gymnast I suppose and not too much different from the way I feel if I overdid it a bit lifting weights) and after icing for a day or two she's back to normal. So I'm not overly concerned and I'm hoping as she moves on to learning back handsprings that it will become less of an issue, but since she has a month or so left in the season, can anyone recommend some exercises that promote shoulder flexility?

Also if anyone wants to take a look at this pic of my dd doing her BWO and tell if me if looks like she might be overcompensating with her lower back a bit, or if it looks correct...Thank you!

Attachments

• 16406410_10211418389086088_1756817595700978587_n.jpg
    16406410_10211418389086088_1756817595700978587_n.jpg
    85.5 KB · Views: 224